Don’t we all just have a “little bit of scientist” in us?

I was pondering the similarities and differences between art and science today.  Of course, as beadmakers/glassworkers, we consider ourselves artists.  BUT aren’t we all just a little bit scientist, too?  I mean, think about it…. the act of creating the object itself it more likely on the ‘art’ side of things~~~ or is it?  Perhaps some would argue that the act of creating is indeed scientific.  For example, many of us are often perfecting our ‘dimpled’ bead holes.  Genuinely, that is more science than art.  Maybe you use Silver Foil or Precious Fine Silver in or on your beads.  Art? surely!  The colors alone are gawkworthy.  Again, though, some may argue it’s science.  The way the silver reacts to the different colors on your palette.  ‘Reaction’ is a scientific element, isn’t it?  When does ‘reaction’ become more art than science?  When I’m working my borosilicate glass, I feel like an artist as I create, but deep down as I’m peering through my Aura’s,  a little bit of  invention runs through my veins, and then, suddenly, I’m wearing my Einstein cap.  “What would happen if I mixed this one with that one, then stretched it and bent it, then rolled it in this and melted it in?”  Now answer me this… is it art, or is it science? Or can we agree that it is just a little bit of both?

Ruffled Autumn Geode

Published in: on November 20, 2007 at 8:00 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sleeky.wordpress.com/2007/11/20/dont-we-all-just-have-a-little-bit-of-scientist-in-us/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are 100 percent right…..as an oil artist..no one would ever imagine that mixing black with yellow makes a beautiful green. And that alizarin (red) mixes with brown makes a deeply gorgeous black…so much richer than black out of a tube. Watercolors also have their own magic. Most colors actually come from the earth. I think it is so magnificent when artists use their creativity and most of all when they are so inquisitive and filled with curiosity aso much as to experiment and “go out of the lines” It truly makes for some wonderful surprises. I adore your work Joanna. You are a brilliant glass artist. Love, mom

  2. […] the Bead­Nerd, offers help in meet­ing unknown goals.Joanna Mueller, aka Sleeky, becomes a mad sci­en­tist with her lampworking.Bethany (Gwa­cie) Adams sug­gests the obvi­ous about plan­ning ahead when […]


Leave a Reply

